Beware – Sweet Gum Balls

February 7, 2007 at 2:15 pm 5 comments

gumball.jpg
It was such a pretty day, so my girls and I decided to go out and eat lunch on the deck. I prepared the meal and had my hands full of plates and cups as I stepped outside onto the deck not really paying much attention to where I was stepping. Until my foot landed on one of those sweet gum seed balls. Ouch they sure do hurt. My yard is full of them, I guess it is about time to go rake them up since it seems like they have all fallen off the trees.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bridge Over Troubled Waters Red Roofed House

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  February 7, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I always thought those little balls looked so neat. How’s the foot doing?

    Reply
  • 2. pastorrick  |  February 7, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Sue – Don’t you remmeber them at Grandpas?

    Reply
  • 3. Lessie  |  February 7, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    I remember as a child falling down and having them stick in my bare knees. Not fun! But they great for craft projects! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Photo Buffet  |  February 8, 2007 at 12:00 am

    We planted a sweet gum for our two granddaughters when each was born. They’re beautiful trees. My dad passed away last August and he used to reminisce about sweet gums (they called them Liquid Amber where he grew up).

    Reply
  • 5. Patsy  |  February 8, 2007 at 11:11 am

    And where were your shoes; son of mine! I know that I taught you to wear your shoes at least outside! Dumb ole kid! Hey I bet the little ones would love to help you pick them up out of the yard or is it baby snake season back there now. I know they come out in the spring, but is this spring or still winter there!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND; AND YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF

Blog Stats

  • 50,461 hits
This site is a member of: City Daily Photo
February 2007
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728