Old Time Clothes Dryer

March 26, 2007 at 1:23 am 10 comments

clothes-line.jpg
I was driving down the road today when I had to pull over and take this picture. I can’t remember the last time I saw clothes drying outside on a clothes line. Here in the USA most people I know have clothes dryer in their home to dry their clothes. What about your town, how do you dry your clothes?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church I am at your service!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Olivier  |  March 26, 2007 at 9:26 am

    belle collection de linges à faire secher ;o) beau coup d’oeil du photographe


    beautiful collection of linens to make dry ;O) beautiful glance of the photographer

    Reply
  • 2. Isabella  |  March 26, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Ha! Have you been to Italy?
    While we lived in Paris, although we had a washer, we had to dry our laundry on clothes lines criss-crossing our turn-of-the-century, elegant salon 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Edwin  |  March 26, 2007 at 10:01 am

    I have a washer but still dry my clothes under the sun. there’s nothing like it. Also saves on dryer sheets, doesn’t it? 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. lessie  |  March 26, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    My neighbor dries her clothes on the line and I’m always amused to see her son’s underwear. (He’s in his 60s, so it’s not little. 🙂 )

    I totally totally recongize this apartment complex. I drove by it often heading to downtown. I can’t remember the name of the street though — Gervais? No…Forest Drive? I bet the resident doesn’t have a dryer. It’s MUCH easier to hang on the line than cart the clothes to the laundry mat. (I’m very grateful for my w/d. 🙂 )

    Reply
  • 5. Annie  |  March 26, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    It’s been years since I have hung out clothes. And no one does it in my neighborhood now. If I saw this sight, I’d pull over to photograph it too.

    Reply
  • 6. Denton  |  March 26, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    We had a cloths line when my wife and I were first married. We borrowed the money to purchase a washing machine after the arrive of our first child but held off on expense the dryer for several years. Now we could no live without the dryer.

    Reply
  • 7. Andrew  |  March 26, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    I like all the pink. Are they yours?

    Reply
  • 8. Abraham Lincoln - oldmanlincoln  |  March 27, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Wow. Does this bring back old memories. My mom used to hang clothes out on a wire clothesline. It was number 9 “clothesline” wire. And once in my lifetime, back then, I had to go to our store, in our village, and buy a new piece of wire. It was rolled up. And galvanized so it wouldn’t rust right away. I remember me and my mom had a devil of a time trying to unroll the new wire and stretch it tight.

    I wanted to come here and thank you for visiting my blogs and for commenting. I just put a new series of pictures of Bears Mill on my 720 pixels
    Brookville Daily Photo

    Reply
  • 9. Lisa  |  March 27, 2007 at 8:56 am

    After reading an article on the environment earlier this month, I am trying to do my small part and have just started using the clothes line in our laundry room to dry about 3/4 of the clothes. My 6 year old this morning said “Mom, why are my jeans always crusty lately?”. Those dryer sheets do work wonders. 😉 Maybe I could rub it on the clothes before hanging them – HA!

    ~Lisa

    Reply
  • 10. annulla  |  March 27, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Nice shot! I know very few people here who have their own washing or drying machines; most apartments forbid them. The average person uses coin-operated machines or a laundry service.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND; AND YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF

Blog Stats

  • 47,812 hits
This site is a member of: City Daily Photo
March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

