Cotton Picker

March 19, 2007 at 1:56 am 8 comments

old-lady.jpg
Sunday I mentioned I was out in a part of town called Earlwood. I was unfamiliar with this part of town and as I was out walking the neighborhood I saw this lady peeking out her front door at me so I said hi and struck up a conversation. Turns out she is 83 years old and her husband is 89 and they have lived in Columbia their whole lives and have only left the state once. She told me when she was only five years old they (not sure who “they” were) gave her a bag and off to the cotton fields she went to pick cotton. She told me she would make $10.00 a week for her labor. She let let me let me know many times how grateful she was a for all of her experiences. I never did get her name because when her husband saw me he became very suspicious and called her in so off she went.

Entry filed under: History, Old, Uncategorized, women.

LEXINGTON PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Step on in!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edwin  |  March 19, 2007 at 11:11 am

    This is such a wonderful shot and an even more wonderful post. I’m glad you stopped to spend a few minutes with her. I’m sure she would’ve told you many more stories if it wasn’t for her ‘jealous’ husband 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Olivier  |  March 19, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    vraiment un tres beau portrait


    really a very beautiful portrait

    Reply
  • 3. Annie  |  March 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Surely she was lonely as well as being an eager conversationalist. And surely you have a sympathetic face. I enjoyed reading about your exchange.

    Reply
  • 4. Patsy Ann  |  March 20, 2007 at 2:45 am

    Nice looking lady. It sounds like you were the icing on her day. You should have engaged her husband in the conversation also. It would have been wonderful to hear his view of the “old days”.

    Reply
  • 5. kris  |  March 20, 2007 at 4:08 am

    the pastel of the b/ground and her dress makes a perfect document for the day! i love the shot

    Reply
  • 6. Luigi  |  March 20, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Such a natural photo shoot! and surely an eye-opener conversation, you can learn history from such acquaintance.. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Denton  |  March 20, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Great post. I think your photograph and her story express great dignity … Sad her husband was suspicions.

    Reply
  • 8. lessie  |  March 21, 2007 at 10:01 am

    Great photo and commentary. You probably never meet a stranger. I love that this photo is so natural and includes her husband’s hand and arm. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND; AND YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF

Blog Stats

  • 47,812 hits
This site is a member of: City Daily Photo
March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

